Skip to Main Content

Degree Requirements

Degree Requirements for the Religious Studies BA

The following is a complete listing of degree requirements for those seeking to earn a BA in Religious from Weekend/Evening College at Mount Saint Mary’s University.

Your degree will be divided into the following five categories:

  1. Scripture
  2. Christian Thought
  3. Christian Ethics
  4. Religion & Religions
  5. Special Offerings

For more information, please consult a Mount advisor.

Lower Division

Total Units in Lower Division: 9

RST 015 Introduction to Christian Scriptures (3)
RST 021 Introduction to Catholicism (3)
RST 041 Introduction to Christian Ethics (3)

Upper Division

Total Units in Upper Division: 21

Scripture (3)
RST_155 Upper Division Scripture Study (3)

Christian Thought (6)
RST_131 Jesus (3) required and
3 units in another upper division category II course

Christian Ethics (3)
Upper division category III course

Upper Division Elective (3)
Upper division course in any RST category

General Elective (3)
3 units in any area

Senior Thesis/Project (3)
RST_199 Senior Thesis/Project

Total Units Required for Major: 30

Total Units for Complete Bachelor’s Degree: 124