Skip to Main Content

Spotlight Archive Items


Mount Saint Mary’s University honored its student leaders during awards ceremonies at both its campuses this month. Here, Athenian Award winners pose for photos after their ceremony on the College's Chalon Campus.

Student leaders honored at the Mount

Mount Saint Mary’s University recognized student leaders at each of its campuses this month with ceremonies awarding the College’s Doheny Leadership Awards and Athenian Awards.

The Athenian Awards are held annually on the Mount’s Chalon Campus to honor students’ leadership and to trace their service back to the College’s founders. The Chalon Campus is home to Mount St. Mary’s traditional undergraduate program.

“We want our students to feel proud of the legacy they are creating on campus through their leadership,” says Aurora Israelson, associate director of the College’s Women’s Leadership Program. “We also want them to feel inspired by, and connected to, the legacy of bold women leaders who came before them. A legacy that’s represented by our founders, the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.”

One of the highlights of the Athenian Awards is the Inter-Club Council Awards that are chosen each year. This year’s winners included:

Organization of the Year: Muslim Student Association

Most Collaborative Program: Building Bridges (Latinas Unidas, Pangkat Pilipino, AACW, Mount Movement and Ballet Folklorico Club)

Most Original Program (tie): Building Bridges (Latinas Unidas) & Hijab Day (Muslim Student Association)

Most Creative Publicity: Chalon Associated Student Body

The Athenian Awards also honor faculty and staff who have made a significant impact on the Mount community. Helen Boutrous, chair of History/Political Science, was named Faculty of the Year. Farah Mullings, Chalon director of Student Programming and Commuter Services, was honored as Staff of the Year.

A full list of Athenian Award winners is posted on Mount St. Mary’s portal for all students, faculty and staff to read.

The Doheny Leadership Awards are an annual opportunity for the College to acknowledge and thank all its students based at its Doheny Campus, home to the Mount’s associate in arts program, graduate degree programs and Weekend College program designed for working adults.

"Students are pulled in many different directions, so for student leaders to go the extra mile by becoming involved and active on campus shows their dedication to the Mount experience,” says Brianna Ellis, assistant director of the College’s Women’s Leadership Program. “Their leadership hasn’t gone unnoticed, so we choose to honor them each year through this reception.”

Clubs honored at the Doheny Leadership Awards included the Doheny Business Club, Doheny Campus Ministers, Student Ambassadors and Doheny Residence Assistants.  

DeAnna Consiglio and Harmoni Morales were also recognized as the incoming Doheny Associated Student Body president and vice president for 2013-2014. The duo served as ASB Commuter Senators this school year and won Outstanding Commuter Service Awards.

Visit Mount St. Mary’s Facebook page for photo albums of both the Chalon Athenian Awards and Doheny Leadership Awards.

Home  |  Resources & Culture  |  Spotlight Archive Items