The Charles Willard Coe Memorial Library, dedicated in 1947, was the fifth building constructed on the Chalon Campus and the last designed according to the original 1926 master plan. The Reading Room showcases its classic Spanish Gothic roots, modeled on the great universities of Spain with a vaulted ceiling, built-in wood bookcases, arched windows, and wrought iron chandeliers. It is named for a California rancher whose daughter, Sister Mary Celine Coe, CSJ, contributed her inheritance for construction, and the Coe coat-of-arms appears in cast stone over the entrance. The library was completely renovated in the 1990s to accommodate current technology. Since its very beginning, the library has been the center of the Chalon Campus, offering a comfortable and inviting haven for research and study.
Enjoy the ambiance and the panoramic views from the Reading Room (3rd floor/main entrance), or find a quieter place to study on the 1st floor. Study rooms are available on the 2nd floor. Computers are available in the Reading Room, the Media Center, the 24-hour Computer Lab, and the classroom on the 4th floor (when class is not in session.)