Skip to Main Content

News Releases

Mount Saint Mary’s faculty promotions and tenure achievements

May 24, 2017 / Los Angeles — At an end-of-year dinner celebrating Mount Saint Mary’s faculty and staff, University President Ann McElaney-Johnson announced the following faculty promotions and tenure achievements:

Promotions to full professorship:

  • Jennifer Chotiner, PhD, Biological Sciences (chair)
  • Carol Johnston, PhD, Education
  • Alan Lee, PhD, Physical Therapy (DPT program)
  • Luiza Nogaj, PhD, Biological Sciences

Promotions to associate professor:

  • David Burkitt, PhD, Business Administration
  • Shani Habibi, PhD, Psychology
  • Adriane Jones, PhD, Biological Sciences
  • Craig Newsam, DPT, Physical Therapy (DPT program)

Tenure effective Fall 2017:

  • Therese Fassnacht, DMA, Music (chair)
  • Jackie Filla, PhD, History & Political Science
  • Stephen Inrig, PhD, Healthcare Administration (director)
  • Robin Owens, PhD, Religious Studies
  • Peter Tan, PhD, Philosophy

It is because of the excellence and innovation of Mount Saint Mary’s faculty that the University’s students become unstoppable. Congratulations to all!

About Mount Saint Mary’s University

Mount Saint Mary’s is the only women’s university in Los Angeles and one of the most diverse in the nation. The University is known nationally for its research on gender equity, its innovative health and science programs, and its commitment to community service. As a leading liberal arts institution, Mount Saint Mary’s provides year-round, flexible and online programs at the undergraduate and graduate level. Weekend, evening and graduate programs are offered to both women and men. Mount alums are engaged, active, global citizens who use their knowledge and skills to better themselves, their communities and the world.

Home  |  About MSMU  |  Communications & Marketing  |  News Releases