Skip to Main Content
menu

Expert Faculty

This guide is intended to help journalists working on breaking stories find the right source.

This list is arranged alphabetically by name. You can also use your browser search function to find specific topics.

If you don't immediately find who you're looking for, please contact Mount Saint Mary's communications and marketing staff.

Name: Peter H. Antoniou
Title: Instructor
Dept: Business Administration 
Areas of Expertise: Strategic management, international business, specialization in China since 1989. Principal of Pomegranate International, a firm involved in international venturing, educational programs and consulting activities and one of the founders of the Ansoff Institute. Published 20 books.
Office Phone: 310-954-4151
Email: pantoniou@msmu.edu 

Name: Emerald Archer
Title: Director
Dept: Center for the Advancement of Women 
Areas of Expertise:
Dr. Archer has dedicated her research to gender equity, stereotype threat and women's representation in non-traditional sectors. She has published nine peer-reviewed articles in national journals and had a book published in 2017 that explores women's history in the U.S. military: Women, Warfare and Representation: American Servicewomen in the Twentieth Century.
Office Phone:
213.477.2544
Email: 
emarcher@msmu.edu

Name: Margaret Avila
Title: Assistant Professor
Dept: Nursing
Areas of Expertise: public health nursing; community health nursing; nursing management; women's health: menopause and gynecology; gerontology nursing
Office Phone: 213.477.2630
Email: mavila@msmu.edu

Name: Matthew Brosamer
Title: Associate Professor
Dept: English
Areas of Expertise: medieval and renaissance literature and society; cultural studies (esp. consumer culture and food-related studies); religion/Catholicism; science fiction and Tolkien.
Office Phone: 310.954.4240
Email: mbrosamer@msmu.edu

Name: Katherine Brueck
Title: Chair, Professor
Dept: English
Areas of Expertise: truth; Christian Platonism; integrating the spiritual dimensions of world religions with literary criticism
Office Phone: 310.954.4282
Email: kbrueck@msmu.edu

Name: J. Scott Bryson
Title: Professor
Dept: English
Areas of Expertise: 20th century U.S. literature; multicultural and environmental literature; Los Angeles literature; sports literature
Office Phone: 310.954.4284
Email: sbryson@msmu.edu

Name: Charles L. Bunce
Title: Chair, Film, Media and Communication
Depts: Sociology; Film and Social Justice
Areas of Expertise: cultural anthropology; culture, music, and broadcasting; Disney Inc. and popular culture; sociology of religion
Office Phone: 310.954.4212
Email: cbunce@msmu.edu

Name: Helen Boutrous
Title: Chair; Assistant Professor; Pre-law Advisor; Mock Trial Coach
Dept: History and Political Science
Areas of Expertise: presidential influence on regulatory policy; California government; Supreme Court nominees; the role of courts and interest groups in the development of public policy and social change; the shifting roles of federal, state and local governments in the development of public policy
Office Phone: 310.954.4207
Email: hboutrous@msmu.edu

Name: Tori Canillas-Dufau
Title: Associate Professor
Dept: Nursing
Areas of Expertise: nursing education, medical-surgical nursing; pharmacology
Office Phone: 213.477.2723
Email: tcanillasdu@msmu.edu

Name: Deniz Cizmeciyan-Papazyan
Title: Professor
Dept: Physical Sciences and Mathematics
Areas of Expertise: physical chemistry and nuclear magnetic resonance
Office Phone: 310.954.4107
Email: dcizmeciyan@msmu.edu

Name: Jennifer Chotiner
Title: Chair, Biological Sciences
Dept: Biological Sciences
Areas of Expertise: learning and memory, including spinal cord injuries; general nervous system function; neurodegenerative disorders: Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, epilepsy, and dementia; mental health disorders; women in science
Office Phone: 310.954.4184
Email: jchotiner@msmu.edu

Name: Julie Feldman-Abe
Title: Director of Elementary Teacher Preparation Program and the University's Center for Cultural Fluency
Dept: Education
Areas of Expertise: Intercultural learning process of educators working with diverse youth; intercultural communication consultant in educational and corporate settings.
Office Phone: 213.477.2625; 213.477.2533
Email: jabe@msmu.edu

Name: Laurie Wright Garry
Title: Assistant Professor
Dept: Religious Studies
Areas of Expertise: systematic theology
Office Phone: 310.954.4067; 213.477.2717
Email: lgarry@msmu.edu

Name: Pam Gist
Title: Associate Professor, dean associate in arts program
Dept: Psychology
Areas of Expertise: causes and effects of stereotypes, biases, discrimination, and prejudice (racism, sexism, homophobia/heterosexism, ageism)
Office Phone: 310.954.4160; 213.477.2658
Email: pgist@msmu.edu

Name:
Robin Gordon
Title: Director of Secondary Education
Dept.: Education
Areas of Expertise: Secondary education, adolescent psychology, teacher education in general.
Office Phone: 213.477.2624
Email: rgordon@msmu.edu

Name: Keith Gosselin
Title: Assistant Professor
Dept.: Business Administration
Areas of Expertise: Marketing, Internet marketing, consulting, advertising, sales, market research.
Office Phone: 310.954.4162
Email: kgosselin@msmu.edu

Name: Paul Green
Title: Professor
Dept: Philosophy
Areas of Expertise: morality of manners; etiquette; politeness; philosophy of technology
Office Phone: 310.954.4291
Email: pgreen@msmu.edu

Name: Rev. Guillermo C. Garcia, CJ
Titles: Associate Professor
Dept: Religious Studies
Areas of Expertise: systematic theology, church history, and Hispanic ministry
Office Phone: 213.477.2641
Email: ggarcia@msmu.edu

Name: Pam Haldeman
Titles: Professor
Dept: Sociology, Social Work and Gerontology, Film, Media and Communication
Areas of Expertise: educating students for lifelong activism in global affairs; film and social justice/social issues
Office Phone: 310.954.4366
Email: phaldeman@msmu.edu

Name: Sande Harte
Title: Professor
Dept: Sociology, Social Work and Gerontology
Areas of Expertise: family; social deviance; violence; race; poverty; social stratification; urban criminology.
Office Phone: 310.954.4365
Email: sharte@msmu.edu

Name: Sister Darlene Kawulok, CSJ
Title: Chair, Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Religious Studies
Dept: Religious Studies
Areas of Expertise: Catholic Church; compassion; sacramental theology; liturgy and feminist theology; social ethics and the Catholic peace and justice tradition
Office Phone: 213.477.2677 or 310.954.4166
Email: dkawulok@msmu.edu

Name: Michelle Melendres
Title: Assistant professor; Director, Honors Program
Dept: Sociology, gerontology, social work
Areas of Expertise: gerontology, gerontological social work, Asian/Pacific Islander culture
Office Phone: 310.954.4206
Email: mmelendres@msmu.edu

Name: Fr. George O’Brien
Title: University Chaplain
Dept: English
Areas of Expertise: the role of mythology in society, literature, and religion
Office Phone: 310.954.4281
Email: gobrien@msmu.edu

Name: Montserrat Reguant
Title: Professor; Chair
Dept: Languages and Culture
Areas of Expertise: nationalism and building communities through literature
Office Phone: 310.954.4240
Email: mreguant@msmu.edu

Name: Susan Salem
Title: Director, Counseling and Psychological Services
Dept: Psychology
Areas of expertise: women and stress
Office Phone: 310.954.4112
Email: ssalem@msmu.edu

Name: Dennis Signorovitch
Title: Lecturer
Dept.: Business Administration
Areas of Expertise: corporate and executive communications; corporate advertising; employee communications
Office phone: 310.203.8655
Email: signorovitch@aol.com

Name: Michele Starkey
Title: Assistant Provost; assistant professor
Dept: Physical Science and Mathematics
Areas of Expertise: mathematical problem-solving, mathematics self-efficacy, assessing student learning outcomes, quantitative literacy for students
Office Phone: 310.954.4103
Email: mstarkey@msmu.edu

Name: Elizabeth M. Sturgeon
Title: Associate Professor
Department: English
Areas of Expertise: Early Modern Historiography; History of the Book; Shakespeare; the ghostly voice in print; writing and reading about current controversies across the curriculum; free speech and censorship in literature and life; prison writing; multicultural immigrant literature
Office Phone: 213-477-2731
Email: esturgeon@msmu.edu

Name: Wanda Teays
Title: Chair, Professor
Dept: Philosophy
Areas of Expertise: Ethics Through Movies, Philosophy of Film, Philosophical themes in Popular Culture (e.g., male/female heroes, authenticity vs. inauthenticity, good v evil, parallel worlds, cyborgs and other "persons"), Biomedical Ethics, Contemporary Moral Problems (e.g., patenting life forms, global issues in human rights, violence, torture, indefinite detention, "war ethics"), Critical Thinking, Teaching Logic & Critical Thinking skills (K- college), innovative teaching techniques, hybrid learning, and incorporating technology into the classroom.
Office Phone: 310-954-4290
Email: wteays@msmu.edu

Name: Marcos M. Villatoro
Title: Fletcher Jones Endowed Chair of Writing
Dept: English
Areas of Expertise: novelist, poet
Office Phone: 310.954.4241
Email: mvillatoro@msmu.edu

Name: Katherine Whitman
Title: Associate Professor
Dept: Business Administration
Areas of Expertise: the economy of China and how China relates to the United States; international marketing and economics
Office Phone: 310.954.4152
Email: kwhitman@msmu.edu